What is jyothirlinga ?

of shivalinga is considered the prime worship for the devotees of Lord
shiva. Worship of all other forms is considered secondary. The
significance of the shivalinga is that It is the resplendent light
(flame) form of the Supreme – solidified to make the worship of It
easier. It represents the real nature of God – formless essentially and
taking various forms as It wills.

This jyoti swarUpa
of God exist in all the shivalinga forms, there are prominent abodes
across Indian subcontinent, where It is in a splendid form. These are
renowned as dvAdasa jyotir lingas or 12 jyotirlingas. These are held at much great esteem since the ancient pre-historic times. purANas
talk in many sections as well as in detail about the glory of these
abodes. Devotees have been getting pulled towards these kshetras due to
the highly benevolent divine presence in these abodes, since ancient

The 12 jyothirlinga temples

There is an sanskrit
shloka that lists the twelve jyotirlinga temples.

�Saurashtre Somanathamcha Srisaile Mallikarjunam|
Ujjayinya Mahakalam Omkaramamaleswaram ||
Paralyam Vaidyanathancha Dakinyam Bheema Shankaram |
Setu Bandhethu Ramesam, Nagesam Darukavane||
Varanasyantu Vishwesam Tryambakam Gautameethate|
Himalayetu Kedaaram, Ghrishnesamcha shivaalaye||
Etani jyotirlingani, Saayam Praatah Patennarah|
Sapta Janma Kritam pApam, Smaranena Vinashyati||�

the Lord incorporates in Himself, the aura and the holiness of all the
twelve JyotirLingas. The grandeur of these places is unique. Devotees
line up in great numbers to take a look and get a Darshan of all the

Location of the jothirlinga temples

on the sea shore, three on river banks, four in the heights of the
mountains and three in villages located in meadows; the twelve
Jyotirlingas are spread out like this. Every place has been described
in glorious words by many detailing the surroundings etc.

of us who go to these temples of Shubhankar Shankar- Jyoti-Sivasthan,
receive the holy blessings of the Lord, and come back happy, peaceful
and blessed. This in indeed depends on one�s devotion and experience

  1. Somnath in Saurashtra (Guj)
  2. Mallikarjun in Srisailam (A.P.)
  3. Mahakaleshwar in Ujjain (M.P.)
  4. Omkareshwar in Shivpuri / mAmaleswara (M.P.)
  5. Vaidyanath in Parali (Mah)
  6. Nageswar in Darukavanam
  7. Kedareswar in Kedarnath / Himalayas (Utt)
  8. Tryambakeswar in Nasik (Mah)
  9. Rameshwar in Setubandanam / Rameshwaram (T.N.)
  10. Bhimashankar in Dakini (Mah)
  11. Visweswar in Varanasi (U.P.) and
  12. Ghrishneswar in Devasrovar (Mah).

Those who chant the Dwadasa JyotirLinga Stotram or prayer will attain
salvation and enlightenment and be released from this cycle of human
existence with all its travails. By worshipping the Lingas, people of
all castes, creeds and colour would be freed from all difficulties. By
eating the holy offering made to these Lingas (Naivedyam) one would be
rid of all the sins instantly.

As a matter of fact, we do the Darshan of the JyoritLingas as a part of
our daily life. Sun, Fire and Light etc., are indeed a part of that
great Light. Om tatsavituvarenye� these magical words of the Gayatri
mantra or chant invoke this Supreme light only. By chanting this
powerful Mantra, humans can obtain divine power to their life-light or

The aura of the Sun rays and the various benefits that can be derived there from is indeed
a difficult task to describe. This gorgeous life-light is the only
thing that is responsible for the activity in the universe. We salute
this life force.

Agniï or fire is a great light. For all the activities on the earth, �Fire� is the pivot.

Deepajyoti or light and its greatness, is known to all of us, and we offer our
prayers. Let us celebrate the glory of light. Light is offered a place
of pride at welcome celebrations and on all auspicious occasions.

ïShubham karoti kalyanam Arogyam Dhanasampada|
Shatru buddhi vinashaya Deepa Jyoti namostute||

This light removes the darkness from the lives of one and all. Darkness
means ignorance and it is destroyed by this light. The natured light of
God makes all our wishes come true, when we take a Darshan of it.

Thus, by taking a Darshan of these twelve JyotirLingas, the auspicious air
surrounding them and the holy pilgrimage, will bring happiness, peace
and satisfaction to all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like